ILO STAFF UNION

Publication:

http://www.ilostaffunion.org/agm-secondsession-17-october-2019/ SU/AGM/2019/2/D.6 17 October 2019

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING SECOND SESSION

17 October 2019

<u>Arrangements for the elections to the Staff Union Committee</u>

- 1. The schedule for the <u>2019</u> Staff Union election was adopted at the Annual General Meeting held on 25 October 2018. The election process is currently underway and the results will be announced on 22 November 2019.
- 2. The Annual General Meeting is accordingly invited to approve the calendar for the elections for <u>2020</u> and take such other steps as may be necessary to ensure the smooth operation of the elections, in particular the appointment of Returning Officers and the Electoral Commission.
- 3. The proposed calendar, for approval by the Annual General Meeting, is therefore as follows:

Monday, 31 August 2020: Distribution of the notice of election, the

form for nomination, acceptance of nomination and the electoral statement.

Monday, 28 September 2020, 16h30: Deadline for the receipt of candidatures

and electoral statements.

Friday, 2 October 2020: Despatch of ballot papers and electoral

statements to Union members based in

field offices and at Geneva.

Thursday, 19 November 2020, 16h45: Closing date of the electoral period and

counting of votes.

Friday, 20 November 2020: Publication of the election results.

- 4. It is recalled that the elections for the renewal of Regional Members in the Staff Union Committee for the period 2018-2020 were held from 12 June to 26 September 2018: <u>Bulletin 1538</u>.
- 5. The list of candidates for the Staff Union Committee election currently underway (2019-2021) is given in the Addendum to this document.

Appointments of Returning Officers

6. Last year the General Meeting elected the following Union members as Returning Officers until 31 December 2019:

Mr. Samir Koufane (Chief Returning Officer)

Ms. Regine de Loof

Mr. Franco Amato

- 7. The Annual General Meeting has now to appoint three Returning Officers for the period of 1 January to 31 December 2020. Staff Union members wishing to be candidates for the office of Returning Officer, are invited to submit their candidatures <u>before</u> the Annual General Meeting, i.e. <u>by 4 p.m. on Monday, 14 October 2019</u>, at the latest. The returning officers are not eligible to be candidates for the Staff Union Committee elections nor any other Union election.
- 8. It is proposed that, if the number of candidates exceeds the number of posts, elections should take place, as has been the practice in the past, by secret ballot. The three candidates having received the most votes will be declared Returning Officers for the period in question, the candidate with the highest number of ballots being designated Chief Returning Officer. Runners-up in the election will constitute a roster of substitutes to be called on in the event of needing to fill a vacancy.

Appointment of the Electoral Commission

9. Last year, the Annual General Meeting elected the following Union members to the Electoral Commission until 31 December 2019:

<u>Titular members</u>: Mr. G. Brun, Ms. K. Curtis, Ms. C. De Giorgi,

Mr. G. de Smidt, Ms. M. Humblet

<u>Substitute members</u>: Ms. J. Lee, Ms. C. Moiret, Ms. A. Muller,

Ms. M. Prieto

- 10. The Annual General Meeting has now to appoint the members of the Electoral Commission for the period of 1 January to 31 December 2020. Staff Union members who wish to be candidates for the Electoral Commission are invited to submit their candidatures <u>before</u> the Annual General Meeting, i.e. by <u>4 p.m. on Monday</u>, 14 October 2019 at the latest.
- 11. It is proposed that, if the number of candidates exceeds the number of posts, elections should take place, as has been the practice in the past, by secret ballot. The five candidates receiving the highest number of votes will be declared elected as titular members, the following five as substitute members.